LOGO

United Faculty of Ohlone


 

UFO Executive Board 2017

Elected (voting) members:

PRESIDENT:
Rob Smedfjeld (Mathematics), RSmedfjeld@ohlone.edu, 510-659-6077

VICE PRESIDENT:
Darren Bardell (History), DBardell@ohlone.edu, (510) 659-6115

TREASURER:
Janice Jones (Early Childhood Studies), JJones@ohlone.edu, (510) 979-7589

SECRETARY:
Ralph Ballart (Physics), RBallart@ohlone.edu

NEGOTIATIONS CHAIR:
Susan Myers (Counseling), SMyers@ohlone.edu, (510) 659-6186

REPRESENTATIVE-AT-LARGE FULL-TIME FACULTY:
Heather McCarty (History), HMcCarty@ohlone.edu, (510) 659-6222

REPRESENTATIVE-AT-LARGE PART-TIME FACULTY:
Ray Buyco (History), RBuyco@ohlone.edu

CHAIR OF CEER (Certificated Employee Employer Relations):
Jennifer Harper (Counselor/Professor, Personal Development), jharper@ohlone.edu, (510) 659-6110

 

Appointed (non-voting) members:

WEB MASTER:
Isabel Reichert (Multimedia), ireichert@ohlone.edu, (510) 659-7337

 

Executive Board Compensation

By section 3.1.7 of the UFO contract, the District provides the equivalent of 30 lecture units of release time to the UFO Executive Board each academic year. The specific allocation is determined by the Executive Board each semester. For Spring 2017, the allocation is:

  • Susan Myers, Negotiations Chair – the equivalent of 4.5 lecture units (30% load)
  • Rob Smedfjeld, President and negotiations – 9 lecture units (60% load)

The UFO itself pays stipends to part-time faculty for the following union work: The Representative-at-Large for Part-Time Faculty receives a stipend each semester in the amount of 6 hours paid at the highest hourly lecture rate for part-time faculty. A part-time faculty member who participates in negotiations will receive a stipend for each hour at a negotiations session, paid at the highest hourly lecture rate for part-time faculty.